Special Report
“Qazaqstan Shutdown 2022”
Business, Internet, and Human Rights
Business, Internet, and Human Rights
Article author
Арсен Аубакиров,
ОФ «Human Rights Consulting Group»
Speaking of the legal standpoint, decisions, by which mobile operators, being business entities, introduced internet restrictions, blocked web resources, and later shut down the internet completely, are substantiated by the imposition of the state of emergency – at first, in certain regions, and then throughout the entire country, by the announcement of the conduction of anti-terroristic operations, and also by the provisions of the Law “On Communications”. In such a way, in light of the country-wide digitization, the sphere of telecommunications technologies suffered along with many other sectors of economy and end consumers of goods and services. Currently, it is nearly impossible to estimate the size of losses, for example, according to the insider information of Forbes, the losses incurred by Kcell are about KZT 1 billion. Based on the methodology used by NetBlocks, the total damage can achieve up to USD 500 million.
groups were using communications means for planning and coordinating their actions”. It is noteworthy that mobile operators neither notified their users, nor made any official statements on the reasons of blocking web resources and cutting down the internet.
Mobile operators and other businesses engaged in the provision of online services focused on the implementation of respective directives and demonstrated a broad-scale cooperation with governmental authorities. In doing so, users of their services did not receive any adequate information and learnt official news on the steps taken, mostly, from President Tokayev and MDDIAI in the person of Minister Musin.
On January 8, 2022, the Minister announced a row of measures aimed at making the life of common citizens easier in the absence of internet connection.
● They worked out a mechanism to maintain an access to certain resource 24 hours a day, despite the total internet shutdown. They also considered ‘the matter of providing an access to other vitally important services’.
● Pursuant to the President’s task, mobile operators promised to a free package of 200 text messages and 300 minutes of calls to all users.
● ‘Thanks to a close cooperation with the mobile operators’, citizens started receiving notifications and news from the State, namely from Akorda (Presidential Administration), and also from the mobile operators, through text messages.
As to the collection of data from outdoor surveillance cameras (i.e., from private systems), it can be suggested that the national video monitoring system of the National Security Committee of the Republic of Kazakhstan does not operate to the full extent yet, and the reasons can be both technical and organizational. For example, connection private video surveillance systems, as set forth by the Rules adopted in 2020, is being implemented behind time.
At the same time, Telegram was used to spread hundreds of proxy-servers for the users from Kazakhstan (an example can be found here). It should be mentioned that, in parallel with adequate solutions, this may pose a threat to the privacy of personal correspondence of users as such unsourced distribution can be used to spread out doubtful proxy-servers intended to collect personal data.
Private companies started to develop, specifically for Kazakhstan, ways for bypassing blocking mechanisms, both of general application and particularly for Telegram. For instance, free private browser TOR allocated special channels for Kazakhstan.
According to Technodom representative Yermek Zhakipzhanov, soon the country will be availed to a new service of verifying the legitimacy of home appliances, which are now offered in large numbers for sale at such marketplaces as olx.kz. This information is important for the population, because when buying stuff online, people can get involved in acquiring goods stolen during January events, which, in turn, can lead to certain legal consequences. The said solution should be expanded to cover network access devices, since such type of goods turned out to be first for stealing and are in high demand. This, above all, can prove to be quite effective in relation to mobile devices with the internet access as their blocking is implemented by their IMEI numbers.
At the same time, businesses that operate outside the country turned out to be more socially oriented, mobile, and rapidly adapting as they offered their own solutions to common users, both through international NGOs and directly, in particular for the preservation of access to information (bypassing of blockages), and for the protection of privacy (technical restrictions of tracking devices). Still, a question of the safety of data, which went through unverified channels for bypassing blocking mechanisms, remains open, along with the corresponding possibility of new large-scale data leakages in future.
In light of January events, local businesses acted in compliance with the national laws and fully performed all directives of the governmental authorities. As an independent body of ensuring human rights in the digital environment, business sector did not show transparency in its cooperation with the State and also demonstrated no initiative of its own, except for some technical solutions based on the outcomes of non-public communications with the MDDIAI of the RK as well as compensations to the users of their services.
Besides, several banks informed that they would not accrue overdue payment penalties for credits and other loans for the period from January 5 to January 19, 2022.
On January 13th, MDDIAI of the RK, together with the General Prosecutor’s Office of the Republic of Kazakhstan, announced the launch of the website to collect digital materials (photo-, audio-, and video materials) from the scenes of events in Almaty and other cities, taken by smartphones, automobile dash cams, and outdoor surveillance cameras.
The Minister of Digital Development, Innovations and Aerospace Industry (MDDIAI), represented by Bagdat Musin, provided explanations on the internet shutdown, saying that “restrictions of internet access were related to the fact that terroristic
Behavior of Businesses and Cooperation with the State
Conclusion
On January 10th, Bagdat Musin announced other proposed measures to be implemented in conjunction with the mobile operators and banks to support the population under the state of emergency as follows:
● Kazakhtelecom JSC cancelled accruing penalties for overdue payments for telecommunications services rendered to natural persons in January 2022, and also ‘provided 1000 minutes of calls from landline phones to mobile phones with no additional charges”;
● All users of the fixed internet by Kazakhtelecom JSC and Beeline received a free access to TV and entertainment options;
● Mobile applications of Beeline, Kaspi, Halyk, and Homebank introduced the Governmental News section, where messages on the state of emergency, overnight curfew, and other official announcements were published, which actually turned those businesses into mass media sources.
Recommendations
● The State, represented by the President’s Office, General Prosecutor’s Office, National Security Committee, Ministry of Internal Affairs, and the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan, should provide a publicly available conclusion on the effectiveness of the use of internet blocking mechanisms and communications shutdown through the prism of the events of January 2022.
● The State, represented by the MDDIAI, National Security Committee, and mobile operators, should define and specify communications procedures, and also make official publications of all documented liaison (letters, inquires, notifications, and meeting minutes) between themselves that took place on the background of the events from early January 2022.
● Leave behind those provisions of the national legislation that envisage restrictions of access to the internet and practice of blocking web-resources and cutting down the internet. In case the user has no traffic or in case of technical failures, the State, represented by the MDDIAI of the RK and mobile operators, should define the list of the socially significant resources and services, whether governmental, private, and public, which should be available even in the absence of internet so to ensure the entire spectrum of the rights and interests of its population.
● Mobile operators should strengthen their transparency and improve the mechanism of informing their subscribers on any possible and actual blockages and disconnections, accompanied by the most detailed clarifications and justifications, through their own communications channels (push notification services, news, short messages), placement of announcements at the official pages in social networks – preferably in the form of publications, and not as comments/quickly disappearing stories or other less vivid methods – and also through mass media sources.
● All stakeholders should expand information coverage campaigns on the protection of the right to access to the internet, and also on the implementation of the right to privacy in light of possible leakages of personal data, correspondence and other private information from the devices, when trusting unverified technical solutions in the form of widely spread programs and applications with various spheres of their intended usage.
● Telegram users are recommended to clean up the list of proxy-servers and keep only mostly trustworthy and recommended by cyber security specialists and relevant organizations.

Специальный отчет “Qazaqstan Shutdown 2022”
Бизнес, интернет и права человека
Бизнес, интернет и права человека
Автор статьи
Арсен Аубакиров,
ОФ «Human Rights Consulting Group»
С правовой точки зрения, обоснованием ограничений блокировок и отключения интернета, реализованных операторами связи как субъектами бизнеса, послужил ввод режима ЧП — сначала в отдельных регионах, а потом по всей стране, — объявление о проведении контртеррористической операции, а также положения Закона «О связи». Таким образом, ущерб был нанесен как отрасли телекоммуникационных технологий, так и на фоне масштабной цифровизации другим секторам экономики и конечным потребителям товаров и услуг. Оценить масштаб в текущих условиях практически невозможно, например, по инсайдерской информации Forbes убытки Kcell составили около 1 миллиарда тенге. По методике используемой сервисом NetBlocks, общий ущерб мог составить 500 миллионов долларов США.
Стоит отметить, что операторы связи не оповещали пользователей и не делали официальных заявлений в СМИ о причинах блокировок и отключения интернета.
Операторы связи и другой бизнес, связанный с оказанием услуг онлайн, сконцентрировался на выполнении требований и проявил масштабное сотрудничество с государственными органами. При этом пользователи услуг практически не получали исчерпывающую информацию и с опозданием узнавали официальную информацию о предпринимаемых мерах, в основном от президента Токаева и МЦРИАП РК в лице министра Мусина.
8 января 2022 года министр сообщил о ряде мер, нацеленных на облегчение жизни граждан во время отсутствия доступа к сети.
● Был проработан механизм, при котором независимо от полного отключения интернета, доступ к некоторым ресурсам обеспечивался бы по возможности в круглосуточном режиме. Рассматривался «вопрос доступа к остальным жизненно важным сервисам».
● По поручению президента, всем пользователям было обещано начисление операторами связи бесплатного пакета на 200 SMS и 300 минут звонков.
● «Благодаря тесной работе с операторами связи», граждане стали получать оповещения и новости посредством SMS-сообщений от государства в лице «Akorda» (администрация президента), а также непосредственно от операторов.
10 января, по сообщению Багдата Мусина, были предложены совместные с операторами связи и банками меры поддержки населения во время ЧП, согласно которым:
● АО «Казахтелеком» отменил начисление пени за просрочку оплаты телеком-услуг в январе 2022 года физическим лицам», а также «дал пакет на 1000 минут на мобильные городского телефона без дополнительной оплаты»;
● всем пользователям фиксированного интернета от АО «Казахтелеком» и Beeline был открыт бесплатный доступ к телевидению и развлечениям;
● в мобильном приложении оператора связи Beeline и банков Kaspi, Halyk и Homebank была открыта рубрика «Государственные новости», в которой транслировались сообщения о режиме ЧП, комендантском часе и другие официальные обращения, что по сути превратило их в СМИ.
Касательно сбора данных с камер внешнего наблюдения (подразумеваются частные), можно предположить, что национальная система видеомониторинга КНБ РК еще не работает в полном объеме. Причины могут быть как технические, так и организационные. Например, подключение частных систем видеонаблюдения по правилам, утвержденным в 2020 году, проходят с нарушениями сроков.
Между тем в Telegram массово распространялись сотни proxy-серверов для пользователей из Казахстана (пример можно посмотреть тут). Стоит отметить, что, наравне с оптимальными решениями, это может грозить приватности личных переписок пользователей, так как через рассылки без источника могут продвигаться сомнительные proxy-сервера для сбора персональных данных.
Частные компании стали разрабатывать отдельно для Казахстана способы обхода блокировок как в целом, так и специально для Telegram. Например, бесплатный приватный браузер TOR выделил отдельные каналы для Казахстана.
По словам представителя компании Technodom Ермека Жакипжанова, скоро в стране появится сервис проверки бытовой техники для определения законности товаров, которые массово появились в продаже на сайтах объявлений вроде olx.kz. Данная информация важна для населения, потому что, покупая вещи онлайн, они могут столкнуться с украденными в ходе январских событий товарами, что может повлечь за собой ряд правовых последствий. Решение необходимо расширить на устройства с выходом в интернет, т.к. такие товары были похищены в первую очередь и пользуются существенным спросом. Это, в первую очередь, может быть эффективно в отношении мобильных устройств, имеющих выход в интернет, так как блокировка осуществляется по номеру IMEI устройства.
В то же время бизнес, который работает за пределами страны, оказался более социально ориентированным, мобильным и быстро адаптировался, предлагая свои решения рядовым пользователям через международные НПО и напрямую, в особенности, чтобы сохранить доступ к информации (обход блокировок), а также обеспечить приватность (технические ограничения для слежки). Остается вопрос касательно безопасности данных, которые проходили через непроверенные каналы обхода блокировок, и связанной с этим возможности новых массовых утечек в дальнейшем.
Местный бизнес в январских событиях действовал согласно национальному законодательству и полностью следовал указаниям государственных органов. Как самостоятельный субъект в вопросах обеспечения прав человека в цифровой среде бизнес публично не проявил прозрачности в работе с государством, а также не обозначил собственные инициативы, кроме некоторых технических решений по итогам закрытых коммуникаций с МЦРИАП РК и компенсаций для пользователей услуг.
Помимо этого, некоторые банки сообщили, что не будут начислять пеню просрочки по кредитам и другим займам с 5 до 19 января 2022 года.
13 января МЦРИАП РК совместно с Генеральной прокуратурой РК объявили о запуске сайта для сбора цифровых материалов (фото, аудио и видео) с мест событий в Алматы и других городах страны со смартфонов, авторегистраторов и камер внешнего наблюдения.
Объяснения касательно отключения интернета предоставило Министерство цифрового развития, инноваций и аэрокосмической промышленности (МЦРИАП РК) в лице Багдата Мусина, рассказавшего, что «ограничения доступа к интернету связаны с использованием средств связи для координации и планирования действий террористическими группировками».
Поведение бизнеса и сотрудничество с государством
Заключение
Рекомендации
● Государству в лице АП, ГП, КНБ, МВД и правительства РК публично представить заключение об эффективности применения блокировок интернета и отключений связи на основе событий января 2022 года.
● Государству в лице МЦРИАП, КНБ РК и операторов связи определить и конкретизировать процедуры коммуникаций, а также официально опубликовать все зафиксированные коммуникации (письма, запросы, уведомления и протоколы встреч) между собой на фоне событий с начала января 2022 года.
● Отказаться от норм национального законодательства в части ограничения доступа к интернету и практики блокировок и отключения интернета. В случаях отсутствия трафика у пользователя и технических неполадок государству в лице МЦРИАП РК и операторов связи необходимо определить перечень социально-значимых ресурсов и сервисов, как государственных, так и частных или общественных, к которым необходимо предусмотреть возможность доступа без интернета для соблюдения всего спектра прав и интересов населения.
● Операторам связи необходимо повысить прозрачность и улучшить механизм информирования пользователей услуг о возможных и фактических блокировках или отключениях с максимально подробными разъяснениями и обоснованиями посредством своих каналов коммуникаций (приложения с push-уведомлениями и новостями, SMS) заявления на официальных страницах в социальных сетях — желательно в виде публикаций, а не комментариев/быстро исчезающих stories или других менее явных способов, — а также через СМИ.
● Всем стейкхолдерам необходимо расширить информирование по защите права на доступ в интернет, а также по реализации права на приватность в связи с возможными утечками персональных данных, переписок и другой личной информации с устройств при использовании непроверенных технических решений в виде программ, приложений с различными целями использования и широкого распространения.
● Пользователям Telegram рекомендуется очистить список proxy-серверов и оставить наиболее доверенные, рекомендованные специалистами по кибербезопасности и профильными организациями.