Special Report
“Qazaqstan Shutdown 2022”
E-Participation
E-Participation
Article author
Danila Bekturganov
Civil Expertise Public Foundation
No access to governmental services was available during the period of the total internet shutdown. There was no access to the electronic government website as well as to any other governmental databases.
Petitions
After the internet connection had been restored, e-government services were made accessible, for some exceptions. The information message published by eGov contained a statement on the possibility of interruptions in the provision of certain services, rendered by local governmental authorities.
By the time when gas protests outburst on the 2nd of January 2022, the instrument of electronic petitions had not been put into operation. Let us remind that the draft law “On Introduction of Amendments and Supplements to the Legislative Acts of the Republic of Kazakhstan on the Matters of Public Control”, which regulates the process of submitting
petitions, had been brought for the consideration of the Mazhilis (the lower house of the Parliament) of the Republic of Kazakhstan on November 12, 2021. On the 21st of December 2021, the Mazhilis held an online session, where they formed a working group for further elaboration of the draft law. No specific deadlines were fixed at the session. Unfortunately, online broadcasting files are not saved at the web-resource of the Mazhilis, and there is no access to the materials of the said discussion.
After the internet had been restored, a number of petitions were published online in respect of important matters brought up after the end of the active phase of confrontation. In the absence of the legislative framework, it is difficult to estimate the efficiency of such format of submitting petitions on those matters. Anyway, the existence of these petitions and the number of signatories send an important signal to the government on the matters of the social concern after the tragic events of January 2022.
The website named Otinish (The Application), run by the Center for Applied Research “Talap”, published a petition “Dismiss the Akim of Almaty”. In this petition, addressed to the President of Kazakhstan, the demand to dismiss the akim is reasoned by the fact that Bakytzhan Sagintayev failed to control the situation in the city during the difficult times and had not appeared before the public until January 8th. The petition is authored by the user under the nickname ‘Almaty Residents’, meaning that, in fact, the author is unknown. As at 12.00 a.m. of January 24, 2022, the petition has been supported by 26478 people.
Besides, the same website hosts the petition “We demand to make cars more affordable for citizens”. This application addressed to the President of Kazakhstan is based on the public speech of Kassym-Jomart Tokayev made on the 11th of January in the Mazhilis of the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan, in which he, inter alia, spoke about the organization named ROP Operator. The petition contains specific demands: to revise the size of the recycling fee; to make new cars more affordable to the citizens of the country; to nationalize ROP Operator; and to get rid of junk cars. The author of the petition is the user with the nickname ‘Auto Enthusiasts of Kazakhstan”, meaning it is also anonymous. As at 12.00 a.m. of January 24, 2022, the petition has been supported by 5593 citizens.
Web resources www.change.org (blocked in Kazakhstan) and www.avaaz.org have published petitions to dismiss the Akim of Aktobe oblast, Ondasyn Urazalin. The publication at avaaz.org was posted as long as on the 1st of August 2021, and it is called “Dismiss Local Authorities! Akim of Aktobe Oblast Urazalin O.S.”. As at 12.00 a.m. of January 24, 2022, the petition has been signed by 2004 persons. According to the site, the author of the petition is Bibigul Zh. Another petition, published at change.org on the 17th of January 2022, is named “Dismiss Ondasyn Orazalin, Adopt the law on the elections of akims!”. It is authored by Ainura Kogai. As at 12.00 a.m. of January 24, 2022, the petition has been supported by 27 persons. The reason of the low number of signatories might reside in the above-mentioned fact that change.org is blocked at the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Both petitions are addressed to the President of Kazakhstan.
On January 13th, 2022, www.onlinepetition.kz published a petition that demands to dismiss the akim (mayor) of the city of Shymkent. It states that “the akim of the city of Shymkent, Mr. Aitenov, failed this test offered by the time of troubles and disorders” and contains a request to replace him with “a real economic person and a wise statesman, who will work to win the trust and support of the citizens of Shymkent”. It indicates that the authors are the “residents of the city of Shymkent”, and as at 12.00 a.m. of January 24, 2022, 515 persons have signed the petition. The addressee of the petition, as in all above-said cases, is Kassym-Jomart Tokayev.
The maximum number of supportive signatures (223,101 as at 12.00 a.m. of January 24) has been given to the petition dated January 11, 2022, published at egov.press (this web-resource is no way related to the ‘government for citizens’ web-site) on returning back to the previous name of the capital city, namely to Astana. “Taking into consideration the mood of the public, we request the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Government, and the Parliament to restore the previous name of the capital city of our Motherland – the city of Astana”, the petition states. The author is Daniyar Burkutbayev.
On January 18, 2022, the same website published another petition “We demand to revoke the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan “On the First President!”. The author of the petition, Asylkhan Kenesovich Alibekov, says that a row of privileges, including his immunity, life-long security and maintenance of his financial remuneration, granted to the first president by that law are “not allowable in the free democratic society, which new Kazakhstan aims to achieve”. “Besides, sources of income of the family and other relatives of the first president cast serious concerns. All this should be subject to the lawful and fair investigation, and yet it contradicts the said law. We demand to annul that law!”, the author writes. A day later, more than 600 people supported the petition, and as at 12.00 a.m. of January 24, 2022, the petition has been signed by 45126 persons. It is addressed to the President and the Parliament of Kazakhstan.
A very interesting example of creating online-petitions is the application of public activists Asem Zhapisheva and Bella Orynbet. It is named “For the disclosure of the names of those who died and providing help to their families” and has been launched since January 16, 2022, being spread as a direct link to the Google form. Unfortunately, the functionality of the form does not allow tracking how many signatures it obtained. According to PROTENGE Telegram channel, in the afternoon of January 17, 2022, more than 1000 people signed it. The petition does not indicate any specific addressee.
Conclusions
It becomes obvious that in the absence of the legislative framework such petitions published at various portals will not be taken into consideration. However, their existence and the number of their signatories should be recognized when taking decisions, including those related to staff management.
Such websites as Otinish and onlinepetition.kz offer a possibility to post petitions without an indication of the specific author. Yet, according to article 63 of the Administrative Procedural and Process-Related Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan (APPC of the RK), nameless petitions, as well as any other anonymous applications, cannot be considered even if the text of the petition is very relevant and produces a wide public response. As the laws of Kazakhstan state, any collective application (and petitions are referred to collective applications), must contain information on its author.
Through the prism of human rights to privacy and freedom of opinion and expression, such demand to reveal authors or participants of electronic petitions is quite disputable. However, no consensus of opinion has been achieved in the world regarding the settlement of this issue. In Kazakhstan, in light of its history of chasing social network users for ‘spreading knowingly false information’ or ‘defamation’, and alsoin the presence of the still existing criminal liability for ‘any form of impact inflicted against the First President of the Republic of Kazakhstan – Elbasy – or his co-residing family members with the aim to deter his lawful activities”, it is not surprising that, despite the legal requirement on the disclosure of the personal data when publishing collective petitions online, users prefer to stay nameless.
The absence of the effective instrument of online petitions, which would enable citizens to submit applications on any burning issues without contrived restrictions, might have its negative role in the January crisis. Developers of the draft law “On Introduction of Amendments and Supplements to the Legislative Acts of the Republic of Kazakhstan on the Matters of Public Control” should remember that the mechanism of submitting petitions must be as simple as possible, be considered within the shortest possible time, and be decided in the very prompt manner. Should these conditions be ignored, electronic petitions will not be able to become an instrument of rapid response to crisis situations, which may result in new unpredictable social excessive acts.
Recommendations
To the draft law developers, Parliament, and Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan:
● Revise the number of start-on signatures for its reduction to ease the submission of an electronic petition by the initiator.

● Revise the quantitative criteria for the registration of electronic petitions, considering the size of the population.

● Establish differentiated timeframes for the collection of signatures based on the level of the governmental authority, to which the electronic petition is addressed. Such timeframe should be less for local governmental authorities as the subject of the petition may lose its relevance.

● Reconsider the list of the topics, which cannot be the theme of electronic petitions, for its reduction.

● Reconsider reducing the time given for the consideration of registered electronic petitions, and also introduce a differentiated approach to determining the time period for the consideration of petitions, depending on the level of the governmental authority, to which such electronic petition is addressed.
To the owners and operators of independent platforms of online petitions:
● Until the legislative requirements are changed, avoid submitting online petitions without the indication of the specific author or nameless petitions.

● Pages of web aggregators of petitions should contain information on the use of personal data, both of the initiators of petitions and citizens who support the demands indicated therein. Besides, web aggregators should indicate a specific person, responsible for the storage of personal data.
To the civil society organizations (CSOs) of the Republic of Kazakhstan:
● Initiate a wide advocacy campaign on the information of the citizens of Kazakhstan on the draft project regarding electronic petitions and on the required changes, which would enable citizens to use the instrument of electronic petitions without any contrived restrictions.

● Create guiding documents and information resources for CSOs and activists, dedicated to electronic petitions and e-participation.

● Make efforts to increase expert resources of CSOs and activists in the field of e-participation and its instruments, including, inter alia, electronic petitions.

Специальный отчет “Qazaqstan Shutdown 2022”
Электронное участие
Электронное участие
Автор статьи
Данила Бектурганов,
ОФ «Гражданская экспертиза»
В период полного отключения интернета доступ к государственным сервисам отсутствовал. Помимо доступа к сайту электронного правительства не было и доступа к государственным базам данных.
Петиции
После восстановления интернет-соединения сервисы электронного правительства снова стали доступны, но с некоторыми исключениями. О том, что возможны перебои с предоставлением некоторых услуг, поставщиками которых являются местные органы власти, говорилось в информационном сообщении на сайте eGov.
К моменту начала газовых протестов 2 января 2022 года инструмент электронных петиций так и не начал работу. Напомним, что 12 ноября 2021 года законопроект «О внесении изменений и дополнений в законодательные акты РК по вопросам общественного контроля», в котором регламентируется подача
петиций, поступил для рассмотрения в Мажилис Парламента РК. 21 декабря 2021 года в Мажилисе состоялось онлайн-обсуждение, на котором была сформирована рабочая группа по дальнейшей проработке законопроекта. На заседании не были названы конкретные даты, к которым должна быть закончена эта работа. А онлайн-трансляции заседаний, к сожалению, не сохраняются на сайте Мажилиса, и доступ к материалам данного заседания отсутствует.
После подключения интернета в сети были обнародованы несколько петиций, касающиеся важных вопросов, поднятых после завершения активной фазы противостояния. Учитывая отсутствие законодательной базы по петициям, сложно прогнозировать, насколько действенной окажется подача петиций по этим вопросам. В любом случае, наличие этих петиций и количество собранных подписей дают важные сигналы властям о вопросах, которые волнуют общество после трагических событий января 2022 года.
На сайте «Өтініш», принадлежащем Центру прикладных исследований «Талап», опубликована петиция «Акима Алматы в отставку». В обращении, адресованном президенту Казахстана, требование об отставке акима аргументируется тем, что Бакытжан Сагинтаев не справился с руководством городом в сложный период и не появлялся в публичном поле до 8 января. Автором петиции указан пользователь под ником «Жители города Алматы», то есть фактически автор неизвестен. По состоянию на 24 января 2022 года, 12:00 часов, петицию поддержали 26478 человек.
Кроме того, на том же сайте размещена петиция «Требуем сделать автомобили доступнее для граждан». Обращение, адресованное президенту Казахстана, создано на основании выступления Касым-Жомарта Токаева в Мажилисе Парламента РК 11 января, в котором он, среди прочего, говорил о компании «Оператор РОП». В петиции выдвигаются конкретные требования: пересмотреть сумму утильсбора; сделать новые автомобили доступнее для граждан страны; национализировать «Оператор РОП» и очистить дороги страны от «автохлама». Автором петиции является пользователь под ником «Автолюбители Казахстана», то есть по сути она тоже является анонимной. По состоянию на 24 января 2022 года, 12:00 часов, петицию поддержали 5593 граждан.
На сайте www.change.org (заблокирован в Казахстане) и на сайте www.avaaz.org размещены петиции с требованием отправить в отставку акима Актюбинской области Ондасына Уразалина. Обращение на сайте avaaz.org размещено еще 1 августа 2021 года, она называется «Отставка местной власти! Акима Актюбинской области Уразалина О.С» (орфография и пунктуация автора сохранена). По состоянию на 24 января 2022 года, 12:00 часов, ее подписали 2004 человек. Автором петиции, по данным сайта, является Бибигуль Ж. Обращение на сайте change.org размещено 17 января 2022, и называется «Отправьте в отставку Ондасына Оразалина. Примите закон о выборности акимов!» (орфография и пунктуация автора сохранена). Его автором является Айнура Когай. По состоянию на 24 января 2022 года, 12:00 часов, петицию поддержали 27 человек. Возможно, причиной малого количества подписантов этой петиции является то, что, как было сказано выше, сайт change.org заблокирован на территории РК. Обе петиции адресованы президенту Казахстана.
На сайте www.onlinepetition.kz 13 января 2022 года была размещена петиция с требованием отправить в отставку акима г. Шымкент. В ней говорится, что «Аким города Шымкента господин Айтенов провалил испытание смутой и беспорядками», и содержится просьба назначить акимом города «настоящего хозяйственника и мудрого политика, того кто заслужит доверие и поддержку шымкентцев». Автором петиции указан пользователь «жители города Шымкента». По состоянию на 24 января 2022 года, 12:00 часов, обращение подписали 515 человек. Адресатом петиции, как и во всех предыдущих случаях, является Касым-Жомарт Токаев.
Максимальное количество подписей в поддержку (223101 на 24 января, 12:00 часов) получила петиция от 11 января 2022 года, размещенная на сайте egov.press (не имеет отношения к правительству для граждан) о возвращении столице Казахстана названия Астана. «Учитывая настроения в обществе, просим Президента Республики Казахстан, Правительство и Парламент страны вернуть прежнее название столице нашей Республики – город Астана» (орфография и пунктуация автора сохранены), — говорится в петиции. Автором обращения является Данияр Буркутбаев.
18 января 2022 на том же сайте была размещена петиция «Требуем отмены Закона РК «О первом президенте»!». Автор обращения Алибеков Асылхан Кенесович говорит, что ряд привилегий, в том числе неприкосновенность, пожизненная охрана и сохранение денежного содержания, данных первому президенту этим законом «недопустимы в свободном демократическом обществе, к которому стремится новый Казахстан». «Кроме того, вызывают большие сомнения источники дохода семьи и остальных родственников первого президента. Всё это подлежит законному и объективному расследованию, однако это противоречит указанному закону. Требуем отменить данный закон!» — пишет автор. Петицию менее чем за сутки поддержали более 600 человек, а по состоянию на 24 января, 12:00 часов — уже 45126 человек. Адресатами являются президент и Парламент Казахстана.
Очень интересным опытом создания онлайн-петиции является обращение гражданских активисток Асем Жапишевой и Бэллы Орынбет, озаглавленное «За раскрытие списка погибших и оказание помощи их семьям». Петиция была запущена 16 января 2022 года и распространяется прямой открытой ссылкой на Google форму. К сожалению, функционал формы не позволяет отследить, сколько именно подписей собрала эта петиция, по данным Telegram-канала PROTENGE, к середине дня 17 января 2022 года было собрано больше 1000 подписей. В тексте петиции адресат не указан.
Выводы:
Очевидно, что при отсутствии законодательной базы, размещенные на различных порталах петиции не будут приняты во внимание. Однако их наличие и количество подписавших их граждан должно иметь значение при принятии решений, в том числе и кадровых.
Cайты «Өтініш» и onlinepetition.kz предлагают возможность публикации петиций без четкого указания автора. Однако, согласно ст. 63 Административного процедурно-процессуального кодекса Республики Казахстан (АППК РК), анонимные петиции, как и любые другие анонимные обращения, не могут быть рассмотрены даже в случае, если сам текст петиции является злободневным и вызывает широкий общественный резонанс. Любое коллективное обращение (а петиция является коллективным обращением), по казахстанскому законодательству, должно содержать сведения о его авторе
С точки зрения прав человека на приватность и свободу выражения мнения, требование о деанонимизации авторов или участников электронных петиций является спорным. Однако до сих в мире нет единодушия относительно решения этой проблемы. В Казахстане, с его историей преследования пользователей социальных сетей за «распространение заведомо ложной информации» или «клевету», а также при существующей все еще уголовной ответственности за «воздействие в какой бы то ни было форме на Первого Президента Республики Казахстан — Елбасы или совместно проживающих с ним членовего семьи с целью воспрепятствования его законной деятельности», неудивительно, что, несмотря на законодательное требование о раскрытии персональных данных при публикации коллективных обращений в интернете, пользователи предпочитают создавать анонимные петиции.
Отсутствие работающего инструмента онлайн-петиций, который позволял бы гражданам без надуманных ограничений подавать обращения по злободневным вопросам, возможно, сыграло негативную роль в январском кризисе. Разработчикам законопроекта «О внесении изменений и дополнений в законодательные акты РК по вопросам общественного контроля» следует учесть, что механизм подачи петиции должен быть максимально простым, сроки их рассмотрения должны быть максимально сжатыми, и решения должны выноситься максимально оперативно. Если эти условия не будут соблюдены, электронные петиции не смогут стать инструментом оперативного реагирования властей на кризисные ситуации, что чревато новыми непредсказуемыми социальными эксцессами.
Рекомендации
Разработчикам законопроекта, Парламенту и Правительству РК.
● Пересмотреть количество стартовых подписей в сторону уменьшения для облегчения подачи электронной петиции заявителем.

● Пересмотреть, с учетом численности населения, количественные критерии для регистрации электронных петиций.

● Установить дифференцированные сроки для сбора подписей в зависимости от уровня государственного органа, в который направляется электронная петиция — для местных органов власти срок должен быть меньше, поскольку тема петиции может потерять актуальность.

● Пересмотреть в сторону уменьшения список тем, которые не могут быть предметом электронных петиций.

● Пересмотреть в сторону уменьшения сроки рассмотрения зарегистрированных электронных петиций, а также предусмотреть дифференцированный подход к определению сроков рассмотрения в зависимости от уровня государственного органа, в который направляется электронная петиция.
Владельцам и операторам независимых платформ онлайн-петиций:
● До изменения законодательных требований исключить возможность подачи онлайн-петиций без четкого указания автора и анонимных петиций.

● Страницы сайтов-агрегаторов петиций должны содержать сведения об использовании персональных данных как инициаторов петиций, так и граждан, которые поддерживают изложенные в петициях требования. Кроме этого, сайты-агрегаторы должны указывать конкретное лицо, несущее ответственность за хранение персональных данных.
Организациям гражданского общества (ОГО) Республики Казахстан.
● Инициировать широкую гражданскую адвокационную кампанию по информированию граждан Казахстана о законопроекте об электронных петициях и о необходимых изменениях, которые позволят гражданам без надуманных ограничений пользоваться инструментом электронных петиций.

● Создавать пособия и информационные ресурсы для ОГО и активистов по теме электронных петиций и электронного участия.

● Предпринимать усилия по наращиванию экспертного потенциала ОГО и активистов в части электронного участия и его инструментов, в том числе — электронных петиций.