Situation of Persons with Disabilities during January 2022 Events
Veniamin Alayev
Director of Commission on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Named after K. Imanaliyev (Public Association)
Introduction
Full and effective participation of people with disabilities and their inclusion in society form one of the fundamental principles of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (hereinafter referred to as the Convention) adopted in the year 2006.

Article 29 of the Convention specifically stipulates the right to the participation in political life. According to this article, states shall ensure that persons with disabilities can effectively and fully participate in political and public life on an equal basis with others, directly or through freely chosen representatives.

This category of people is ready to participate in the social life and decision making processes on an equal basis with others, while all events that occur in the country also affect the situation of persons with disabilities.

According to article 11 of the Convention, States Parties shall take, in accordance with their obligations under international law, including international humanitarian law and international human rights law, all necessary measures to ensure the protection and safety of persons with disabilities in situations of risk, including situations of armed conflict, humanitarian emergencies and the occurrence of natural disasters.

The events of January 2022 impacted the life of the whole population of the country, including the life of persons with disabilities. Public disorders and imposition of the state of emergency in Kazakhstan revealed the need to strengthen the security of citizens, including persons with disabilities, without infringing their rights.

This policy brief has been aimed at providing a short summary of the violation of rights that affected persons with disabilities during the specified period and suggesting certain measures to ensure compliance with the provisions of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities when a state of emergency is introduced in the Republic of Kazakhstan.
International Standards
On February 20, 2015, President of the Republic of Kazakhstan N. Nazarbayev signed the Law “On Ratification the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities”. The Convention itself was adopted by the General Assembly of the United Nations on December 13, 2006.
The Convention seeks to eliminate discriminations against persons with disabilities and ensure their rights to labor, healthcare, education, full participation in the life of society, access to a fair trial, personal inviolability, freedom from exploitation and abuse, freedom of movement, and personal mobility.
The paper gives a special attention to the protection of the rights of women and children with disabilities for being one of the most vulnerable categories of the population that need social support.
As the Convention declares, States Parties shall take all proper measures to create effective legislative mechanisms to support the rights of persons with disabilities, including in the field of law-making, to ensure appropriate living standards for persons with disabilities and their participation in the political, social and cultural life of the country.
National Legislation
At present, the implementation of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities continues within the territory of Kazakhstan. Tens of laws underwent changes, and the country is currently following the National Plan on Ensuring the Rights and Improving the Quality of Life of Persons with Disabilities that runs through 2025 (hereinafter referred to as the National Plan). The goals of the National Plan focus at realizing the commitments assumed by the Republic of Kazakhstan with regard to the ratification of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities as well as developing the inclusive society by creating a favorable environment for all vulnerable groups within the framework of the program of social modernization of Kazakhstan by the year 2030.
The Action Plan on ensuring the rights and improving the quality of life of people with disabilities in the Republic that covered the period from 2012 to 2018 (hereinafter referred to as the Action Plan) was implemented in three stage, having been aimed at creating conditions for the further implementation of the standards of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. The major law, which serves to ensure rights and social protection of people with disabilities in Kazakhstan, is the Law “On Social Protection of Persons with Disabilities in the Republic of Kazakhstan”. This Law regulates public relationships in the sphere of social protection of people with disabilities in Kazakhstan and defines legal, economic and administrative conditions to ensure social protection of persons with disabilities and provide equal opportunities for their life activities and integration into society. At the same time, the current legislation contains a number of separate legal norms and provisions intended to guarantee the equality of the rights and opportunities in the best interests of persons with disabilities. In particular, they include:
1.    The Law “On Public Health and Healthcare System”, which envisages measures on the delivery of medical services to persons with disabilities;
2.    The Labor Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan, which establishes standards in terms of the arrangement of workplaces in consideration of individual peculiarities of people with disabilities, temporary transfer to other job for reasons of health, reduced work days, and suchlike;
3.    The Tax Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan, which offers tax preferences to persons with disabilities as well as to public associations of persons with disabilities;
4.    The Law “On Transport in the Republic of Kazakhstan”, which stipulates for the accessibility of passenger transportation for persons with disabilities; and
5.    The Law “On Education”, which contains provisions on the implementation of the inclusive education in the country.
Limitations and Violations of Human Rights of Persons with Disabilities during January Events
Striving to ensure security of the population of certain settlement zones during January events, the government introduced limitations on the movement around the city, operations of organizations, and access to the Internet. 

The author of this policy brief conducted an interview to uncover the situation of people with disabilities during January events. The interview, which involved 35 persons with disabilities, including wheelchair users, people with vision or hearing impairments, and persons with disabilities due to systemic diseases, from various regions, has revealed the following biggest issues:
●     No access to the official information, including the information provided in the format convenient for persons with disabilities
-       Cable TV did not work due to the lack of the Internet access, while not all houses had regular antennas to receive TV signal; 
-       Information on the state channels was not, as a rule, supported by sign-interpretation; 
-       Information that came as short text messages was written in Latin characters, and there were categories of persons with disabilities who could not read it since they did not know the Latin alphabet. 

●     No full access to medical services 
-       Persons with disabilities could not receive a full spectrum of services stipulated by their individual rehabilitation programs because healthcare institutions delivered emergency aid only.

●     No access to compensatory mobile online programs 
-       Persons with vision impairment could not use assistant programs on smartphones that enable them to read text, know their way around, etc.; 
-       Hearing challenged citizens had to visit each other to pass the information as access to messengers was blocked, while short text messages not always got through.

●     Impossibility to shop online 
-       The entire population of the country, including persons with disabilities, could not pay for their purchases online. That circumstance mainly affected people who cannot go out of their houses on their own.

●     Impossibility to go to work or work remotely from home 
-       Employed persons with disabilities, the same as all other citizens, did not go to work and could not work online, which led to the reduction of their salaries in January. 

●     No access to financial services 
-       Since all banks were closed, persons with disabilities could not cash out their disablement allowances. Thus, there were people who found themselves short of money during the state of emergency.


●     No public transport 
-       Due to the absence of any public transport in the cities, legal representatives of persons with disabilities had to find ways of moving around.
Conclusions
As reflected in the official documents, during the state of emergency the state had to protect the population, its life and health, by restricting certain rights, which affected each and every citizens without exception.
In the first place, such restrictions impacted persons with disabilities, who need individual care and personal assistance, and whose personal caregivers, the same as other citizens, could not leave their houses and attend to their patients, as they were in fear of their own lives during the said period.
At the same time, due to the Internet shutdown, people with disabilities could not use mobile assistant applications that usually help to support their maximum independence and access to information in the convenient format.
Recommendations
In the light of above, my recommendations are as follows:
1. To ensure that channels of public notification to be used during a state of emergency have information delivery formats, which would be convenient for persons with disabilities.
2. To conduct a comprehensive research on the impact of January events on the situation in the country, including the situation of persons with disabilities.
3. To study international practices of ensuring public security during a state of emergency with consideration to the implementation of human rights.
4. To initiate creating a national workgroup composed of the civil society representatives, including experts with disabilities as well as representatives of governmental authorities and security agencies, for their joint development of the Action Plan in a state of emergency, which would consider interests of persons with disabilities and comply with the provisions of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities.

Положение людей с инвалидностью в период январских событий 2022 года
Вениамин Алаев
Директор ОО «Комиссия по правам людей с инвалидностью имени Кайрата Иманалиева»
Введение
Полное и эффективное участие и вовлеченность людей с инвалидностью в жизнь общества составляют один из основополагающих принципов Конвенции о правах инвалидов (далее — Конвенция), принятой в 2006 году.

Статьей 29 Конвенции конкретно предусмотрено право на участие в политической жизни. Согласно положениям этой статьи, государства должны обеспечивать людям с инвалидностью возможность эффективно и всесторонне участвовать, прямо или через свободно выбранных представителей, в политической и общественной жизни наравне с другими.

Эта категория людей наравне с другими готова участвовать в жизни общества, принятии решений, и события, происходящие в стране, также влияют на положение людей с инвалидностью.

В соответствии со статьей 11 Конвенции, государства-участники принимают в соответствии со своими обязательствами по международному праву, включая международное гуманитарное право и международное право прав человека, все необходимые меры для обеспечения защиты и безопасности инвалидов в ситуациях риска, включая вооружённые конфликты, чрезвычайные гуманитарные ситуации и стихийные бедствия.

Январские события 2022 затронули жизнь всего населения страны, в том числе жизнь людей с инвалидностью. Беспорядки и введение в Казахстане режима ЧП обнажили необходимость в обеспечении безопасности граждан, не ущемляя их прав, в том числе прав людей с инвалидностью.

Целью подготовки данной аналитической записки является краткое описание нарушений прав, затронувших людей с инвалидностью в описываемый период, и предложение мер для обеспечения исполнения норм Конвенции о правах инвалидов при введении режима ЧП на территории Республики Казахстан.

Международные стандарты
20 февраля 2015 года Президентом Республики Казахстан Н. Назарбаевым подписан Закон Республики Казахстан «О ратификации Конвенции о правах инвалидов». Конвенция принята Генеральной Ассамблеей Организации Объединенных Наций 13 декабря 2006 года.
Конвенция направлена на ликвидацию дискриминации по отношению к инвалидам, обеспечение их права на труд, здравоохранение, образование и полное участие в жизни общества, доступа к правосудию, личной неприкосновенности, свободы от эксплуатации и злоупотреблений, свободы передвижения, индивидуальной мобильности.
Особое внимание в документе уделяется защите прав женщин-инвалидов и детей-инвалидов, как наиболее уязвимых и нуждающихся в социальной поддержке категорий населения.
Согласно Конвенции, государства-участники должны предпринимать все надлежащие меры по созданию эффективных правовых механизмов обеспечения прав лиц с ограниченными возможностями, в том числе законодательные, для обеспечения достаточного жизненного уровня инвалидов, участия их в политической, общественной и культурной жизни страны.

Национальное законодательство
В настоящее время продолжается имплементация Конвенции о правах инвалидов на территории Казахстана, претерпели изменения десятки законов, в стране реализуется Национальный план по обеспечению прав и улучшению качества жизни лиц с инвалидностью до 2025 года (далее — Национальный план). Целями Национального плана являются реализация принятых Республикой Казахстан обязательств в связи с ратификацией Конвенции о правах инвалидов и формирование инклюзивного общества через создание благоприятной среды для всех уязвимых групп в рамках социальной модернизации Казахстана до 2030 года.
Завершилась трёхэтапная реализация Плана мероприятий по обеспечению прав и улучшению качества жизни инвалидов в Республике Казахстан на 2012 – 2018 годы (далее – План мероприятий), направленного на создание условий к имплементации положений норм Конвенции о правах инвалидов. Основным законом, регулирующим обеспечение прав и социальную защиту людей с инвалидностью в Казахстане, является Закон «О социальной защите инвалидов в Республике Казахстан». Настоящий Закон регулирует общественные отношения в области социальной защиты инвалидов в Казахстане и определяет правовые, экономические и организационные условия обеспечения социальной защиты инвалидов, создания им равных возможностей для жизнедеятельности и интеграции в общество. В то же время для обеспечения равенства прав и возможностей в интересах людей с инвалидностью предусмотрены отдельные нормы и статьи в других к областях действующего законодательства, такие как:
1. Закон «О здоровье народа и системе здравоохранения», в котором предусмотрены меры по организации медицинских услуг в интересах лиц с инвалидностью;
2. Трудовой кодекс Республики Казахстан, в котором предусмотрены такие нормы как условия по оборудованию рабочих мест с учётом их индивидуальных возможностей, временный перевод на другую работу по состоянию здоровья, сокращённый рабочий день и прочее;
3. Налоговый кодекс Республики Казахстан, который предусматривает налоговые преференции как гражданам с инвалидностью, так и общественным объединениям людей с инвалидностью;
4. Закон «О транспорте в Республике Казахстан», который предусматривает обеспечение людям инвалидностью доступность пассажирских перевозок;
Закон «Об образовании», который предусматривает нормы по обеспечению в стране инклюзивного образования.
Ограничения и нарушения прав человека людей с инвалидностью во время январских событий
В период январских событий для обеспечения безопасности населения в некоторых населённых пунктах были введены ограничения на передвижение по городу, работу организаций и доступ к сети интернет.

В ходе опроса-интервью о положении людей с инвалидностью в период январских событий, проведённого автором аналитической записки, 35 людей с инвалидностью из числа пользователей колясок, незрячих, неслышащих и имеющих инвалидность по общему заболеванию разных регионов, были выявлены следующие наибольшие сложности:
Отсутствие доступа к официальной информации, в том числе в удобном для лиц с инвалидностью формате
- кабельное телевидение не работало из-за отсутствия доступа в интернет, а в домах не всегда были обычные антенны для приёма тв сигнала;
- информация, поступающая от государственных телеканалов, как правило, не сопровождалась сурдопереводом;
- информация, поступающая в виде SMS латинским шрифтом, не всегда могла быть прочитана, так как есть категории граждан с инвалидностью, не знающих латинский алфавит.

Отсутствие полного доступа к медицинским услугам
- люди с инвалидностью не могли получить весь спектр услуг, предусмотренных индивидуальной программой реабилитации, так как медицинские учреждения оказывали только экстренную помощь.

Отсутствие доступа к компенсаторным мобильным онлайн-программам
- люди с инвалидностью по зрению не могли использовать вспомогательные программы для смартфонов, позволяющие читать текст, ориентироваться на местности и прочее;
- неслышащие граждане для передачи информации были вынуждены посещать друг друга, так как отсутствовал доступ к мессенджерам, а SMS не всегда доходили.

Невозможность осуществлять покупки онлайн
- также как все население страны, люди с инвалидностью не могли оплачивать покупки онлайн. От этого в первую очередь пострадали люди, не имеющие возможность выйти из дома самостоятельно.

Невозможность выходить на работу, вести работу из дома
- трудоустроенные люди с инвалидностью, равно как и все граждане, не выходили на работу и не могли вести работу онлайн, что привело к снижению их зарплат в январе.


Отсутствие доступа к финансовым услугам
- так как банки были закрыты, люди с инвалидностью не смогли снять свои пособия по инвалидности наличными деньгами. Таким образом, были те, кто на период ЧП остался без средств к существованию.


Отсутствие общественного транспорта
- из-за отсутствия в городах общественного транспорта законные представители людей с инвалидностью были вынуждены искать альтернативные способы передвижения по городу.

Выводы
Как отражено в официальных документах, в период введения чрезвычайного положения государство было вынуждено защитить население, его жизнь и здоровье, путём ограничения некоторых прав, которые коснулись всех граждан без исключения.
В описываемый период в первую очередь пострадали те люди с инвалидностью, которым требуется персональное сопровождение и ассистирование, чьи индивидуальные помощники, наряду с другими гражданами, опасаясь за свою жизнь, не могли покинуть свой дом и находиться с опекаемыми. В то же время из-за отсутствия доступа к сети интернет люди с инвалидностью не могли воспользоваться вспомогательными мобильными приложениями,
обеспечивающими максимально возможную самостоятельность и доступ к информации в удобном формате.

Рекомендации
В связи с вышеизложенным рекомендую:
1. Обеспечить каналы оповещения населения в период ЧП с учётом форматов подачи информации, удобных для людей с инвалидностью.
2. Провести комплексное исследование о влиянии январских событий на ситуацию в стране, в том числе на положение людей с инвалидностью.
3. Изучить международный опыт обеспечения безопасности населения в период ЧП, с учётом реализации прав человека.
4. Инициировать создание в стране рабочей группы, в состав которой войдут представители гражданского общества, в том числе эксперты с инвалидностью, представители госорганов и силовых структур для дальнейшей совместной разработки Плана действий в период ЧП, который будет в том числе учитывать интересы людей с инвалидностью и соответствовать нормам Конвенции о правах инвалидов.